Feb 21, 2008

9-1-1? or 9/11?

As any one that knows me can attest to, I am a great fan of irony. I find irony in things that most people wouldn't. I think that it helps us all laugh a little at the things in life that can really get us down.

Anyways. Today I went to the same studio that I record in everyday. I dialed the number, including miscellaneous security codes, flipped the Getner on and waited for the line to be picked up. Instead of the cheerful voice of a Morgan Stanley representative who was ready to record the business for the afternoon, I heard this...

"Hello, 9-1-1, what is your emergency?"

Me: Uhh..um..no.

Operator: Hello? What is your emergency?

Me: No no, I dialed this by accident! Sorry!

Operator: I understand that you don;t want to talk to me miss, but I have to make sure there isn't an emergency. What is your address and phone number?


I gave him my information and hung up, laughing at myself and trying to figure out how I had mis-dialed so horribly.


Later in the afternoon, I went to production control to answer phones for the daily call-in talk show. Are you ready for the ironic part?

The topic was the pentagon's post- 9/11 case. 9-1-1 and 9/11 all in the same afternoon.

We have a list of banned and kooky callers. We're supposed to indicate to the host/hostess if one of the callers in on that list. Well lo and behold, my first called of the day was Bob. Bob happens to be a frequent caller. In a slurred and barely audible voice he informed me that the CEO of the station, who's a bit of a character around Albany, deserves to be paid more. Billions more. Oh and guess what else, Bob is a scientist. He's also been a prisoner of war. And he's a billionaire. But he didn't contribute at our latest fund drive because he's been "cut-off" from being on air. Gee, I can't imagine why. Did I mention that he's on the banned/kooky list several times because he calls and says that he's from all different locations? Yea.

The best part is that his friend Paul called yesterday and yelled at me. He was then put on hold for about forty minutes (he's on the banned list. he yells. a lot. about anything.). I tried to disconnect him, but the bugger called back. So after we stopped accepting calls and the show ended, he called to yell at me (shocker). He then told me that he was going to send me his cell phone bill for being on the phone over an hour. I calmly explained that I was a mere intern and that I have no part in deciding who is put on the air. He yelled. I told him to have a nice day. Click.

1 comment:

Allie McKenna said...

oh man, at the radio station we used to have Stalker Dave would would breathe REALLY heavily on the other end of the line. We also had One-A-Day who would call and tell us how much we suck once a day. And we also had Wild Man John who was awesome and always called at 7:00am on the dot to talk about how he was going to ride the bus. those phone calls are priceless.